Letter from Mayor Helms

The Montreat Town Council and I want to keep you informed about matters pertaining to the Town of Montreat. Since my last letter to you in early July, there is additional information that I want to share with you.

I recently appointed a Citizen Town Hall Committee, chaired by Brinkley Melvin, to study details pertaining to a new Town Hall. The Town Council voted not to build on Florida Terrace, so a decision needs to be made on another location. The committee will seek information and make recommendations to the Town Council on the location and size of the new building. This Town Hall Committee will meet on Thursday, September 15th, at 7:00 p.m. at the Walkup Building. You are encouraged to attend to give your input and to listen to the information pertaining to this important decision.

The Town Council voted that the present bridge on Texas Road, which has been closed for about 8 years, will not be used as a vehicular bridge. The Council is considering other possible actions regarding a bridge, and the recommendations from the Bridge Committee will be considered.

The new Interim Town Administrator is Al Richardson replacing Ron Nalley who resigned to accept a job at Lake Lure. Al was the Town Administrator in Black Mountain earlier and also served as an Interim Town Administrator for Montreat before Ron Nalley’s arrival.

Please feel free to give us your input using the emails below for me and for our commissioners. To improve communication, remember that the public is invited to a Conversation with Commissioners on the first Thursday of each month from 6:30-7:00 p.m., prior to the monthly Agenda Meeting. Any topic can be discussed, and there can be dialogue with us. The next meeting is Thursday, September 1.

Sincerely,

Tim Helms, Mayor
Town of Montreat
thelms@townofmontreat.org

Mayor Pro Tem Fouche kfouche@townofmontreat.org
Commissioner Kent Otto kotto@townofmontreat.org
Commissioner Ann Vinson avinson@townofmontreat.org
Commissioner Bill Gilliland bgilliland@townofmontreat.org
Commissioner Mary Standaert mstandaert@townofmontreat.org

Leave a Comment





Follow this blog

Get a weekly email of all new posts.


X